Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy FCP changing the target on clips to deleted clips

  • FCP changing the target on clips to deleted clips

    Posted by Mark Drewe on November 24, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    I have a series of clips on my timeline that I had to delete (because they’re being replaced). However, since I’ve deleted those clips (I’m going to call the deleted clips ‘clip X’) FCP has seemingly changed other (clip Y), completely unrelated clips on the timeline to clip X.

    So here’s the chain of events:
    Clip X and Clip Y were on the timeline
    Clip X was deleted (replaced by a media offline slug) – off the computer permanently
    Clip Y now targets Clip X (which doesn’t even exist on the computer)

    To make matters more confusing, Clip Y, when selecting it on the timeline into the first preview monitor, recognizes the clip properly. However, when playing on the second monitor, it shows Clip X. When rendering, it renders out clip X.. even though Clip X doesn’t exist.

    This one has me thoroughly stumped. It’s also important to note I’ve got 18 separate timelines, all that had Clip X (Clip X is just a general term for the 159 deleted clips I once had) removed. I was also editing off two computers and two external HDDs, and now have one and one – however all the capture scratch and render files were targeted to the external HDD I’m currently using.

    But this issue has only arisen since deleting Clip X. I’d done the shift to one comp/HDD about a week ago with no issue.

    Has anybody had this issue before? Or am I the lucky first?

    Mark Drewe replied 16 years, 9 months ago 1 Member · 0 Replies
  • 0 Replies

Sorry, there were no replies found.

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy