Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums Video Copilot Animating a line drawing?

• Animating a line drawing?

• Caitlin Folchman-Wagner

March 23, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Hi, I’ve never used After Effects before, but I need to figure out how to animate a line drawing. Its a simple image drawing itself, but I have no idea how to do it.
    Thanks a lot

• Caitlin Folchman-Wagner

March 25, 2008 at 9:56 pm

The image is a black and white pen drawing, but I can easily turn it into an Illustrator file if that would facilitate this process. I’ve never actually used After Effects before, so I’m looking for the simplest way to do this, if thats even possible. I would greatly appreciate any advice at all, because I don’t even know where to begin.
    Thanks

• Mike Derk

March 26, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Aharon has a tutorial on “animating a signature” (look in the podcasts area) that might be useful.

I’ve also seen a video tutorial about growing vines. I can’t find it right now, but it uses “Stroke” to reveal an image. Essentially, you import the entire image, cover it, and then reveal it using masks.

Hopefully someone else will be able to point you to it.

• Simon Bonner

March 26, 2008 at 1:29 pm

Hi Caitlin,

Maybe you mean something like Stefan Bucher’s Daily Monster series? There are lots of these videos, this is just an example one. Stefan draws monsters on paper, then scans them into his computer and animates them. He doesn’t use AE (he uses Anime Studio) but you could do something similar to what he does in AE.