Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums DSLR Video 550D low light capabilities

• 550D low light capabilities

Stephen Knox updated 11 years ago 7 Members · 23 Posts
  • Michael Lorushe

November 16, 2010 at 7:58 pm

I’m new to the world of DSLR video and after countless hours researching on blogs, forums, youtube, vimeo etc…I decided to purchased a 550d/T2i with a Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 lens.

Today I tested it outside and I’m pleased with the results. However I’m at a loss as to why I can’t seem to get decent looking video indoors. I’m shooting at 1080p, 25fps, iris wide open, 1/30 shutter, ISO 800 and yet my footage looks washed out, underexposed and noisy. I’ve reduced the contrast and saturation in one of the picture styles to increase dynamic range but is still looks crappy.

Am i missing something? I was under the impression that DSLRs had better low light capabilities than normal video cameras, yet I can get a much better result with my EX1…even at -3db gain. I know that a faster lens would help but I thought that f2.8 would be sufficient, at least for now…which is why I chose the Tamron lens over the standard kit lens.

Please help! Thanks in advanced.

Michael Folorunsho – Videographer & Editor
    http://www.mikedoesmedia.com

• Darrell Boeck

November 17, 2010 at 2:22 am

Hi Michael,

Something is wrong. I have an EX1 and the T2i, but the Canon 17-55 2.8 lens. My Canon is significantly better in low light. I’m not sure what you could be doing wrong…

• Steve Crow

November 17, 2010 at 3:34 am

Something is definitely off. Try resetting the camera to default settings. Keep the shutter speed to 1/50 which is the ideal setting for filming 24/25fps video.

Are you absolutely sure that your lens aperture is set to wide open?