Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy Using Media Manager to delete unused media

  • Using Media Manager to delete unused media

    Posted by Pierre on October 29, 2005 at 7:03 pm

    Ok- I don’t want to batch capture or capture one clip at a time anymore (no deck)- so I’m trying to learn about the 3rd strategy (p.208 of the FCP4 manual) which says “capture the entire contents of a DV format source tape, then use the DV start/stop detection command to break it into individual clips automatically.” I did that and then made those individul clips into subclips. now I want to use media manager to delete the subclips I know I’ll never use. The instructions on how to remove unused footage but leave subclips on p.292-293 are very unclear. first it says to delete the master clip from the browser and SELECT all the subclips I want to KEEP. then on p.293 it says to check the “delete unused media from selected ITEM” checkbox. That implies that I will delete the selected items. even worse the picture on p293 of the media manager window has an entirely different box checked – the checkbox in the picture says “delete unused media from the DUPLICATED SEQUENCE.” when I open MY media manager the option reads “delete unused media from selected CLIP” (the sentence does not include the words ” item” or “duplicated sequence”.) Does anyone know what’s going on here? I imagine someone has a clear step by step guide as to how to use the media manager after using the stop/start detection command and creating subclips from those markers.?
    your expertise will be greatly appreciated.

    Jerry Hofmann replied 20 years, 10 months ago 2 Members · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • Jerry Hofmann

    October 31, 2005 at 4:13 pm

    1. put all the subclips you want to keep in a sequence end to end.
    2. select that sequence in the browser and control click to open media manager.
    3. Select copy, Delete unused media, and select the option to create a new project file. I’d name those subclips first also, and then use the option to keep those names in the copies. To be sure that all’s well with your settings, READ the summary of what you are getting ready to do in the top area of the Media Manager window. Then click OK.
    4. MM does it’s job, you check the copies which will now open in a new project file with that sequence, and clips you’ve created will be in a “media” folder.
    Make sure that the copies are OK.
    5. Delete the original media in the first project file by selecting all master clips, then right click and select the “make offline” command. Trash them.

    Jerry

    Apple Certified Trainer

    Author: “Jerry Hofmann on Final Cut Pro 4” Click here

    Dual 2 gig G5, AJA Kona SD, AJA Kona 2, Huge Systems Array UL3D

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy