Thanks for your reply Kevin.
When I choose “none (project only)” a project and txt report are generated. This is fine, however the new project is linked to all the old media, so it doesn’t help in this situation.
My version of AE CS6 is up to date with all the current updates. I have tried rebooting the computer with no success. I have not tried re-installing the program. Is that the next step? Should I be trashing preferences somewhere?