Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy FCP and autosave weirdness

  • FCP and autosave weirdness

    Posted by Paul Nevison on October 25, 2006 at 12:57 pm

    hey there

    does anyone else experience the following odd behaviour.

    You are working on an open project and are saving manually regularly, aswell as setting the autosave vault for every 5mins. Suddenly FCP crashes to the desktop, you relaunch FCP from the dock, only for it to open a version of the current project that is sometimes days old. Luckily there is a more recent version that can be opened up via “restore project”

    my question and frustration is that why after a hard crash – does FCP seemingly pick a random old version of the project from the autosave vault rather than the latest one….this is not new behaviour but something i have experienced right back to version 3.

    Am I alone on this?

    G5 DP 2.0 (Power PC)
    4.0G RAM
    OS 10.4.8
    QT 7.1.3
    FCP 5.1.2
    BMD Decklink Extreme 5.7.1
    PAL Land

    Debe replied 19 years, 10 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Bouncing Account needs new email address

    October 25, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    “AutoSave” has had problems, like after using “Log and Capture,” the project will NOT “Autosave” at all, even if it LOOKS like it is saving.
    You must quit FCP and re-open the project, and FCP will THEN “AutoSave” like its supposed to be doing.

    But when I MANUALLY save (and I do that constantly) and there’s a lock-up, AFAIK, when I re-open the project, it is the last version I saved.

  • Bret Williams

    October 25, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    I think the “most recent project” setting is saved like a preference upon quit of FCP or closing of the project. If you’re crashing, then any recent changes to preferences, including it’s listing of most recent project, are lost and it’s probably opening the most recent project you successfully closed or quit without crashing.

    You don’t actually open auto save projects “as is” from the autosave vault do you? If you need to use an auto save project you should use it to replace your normal project (always backup!) and you should rename it the same as your normal project. That keeps further autosaves labeled correctly and keeps all captures and renders in order in the correct media folders.

  • Paul Nevison

    October 25, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    “I think the “most recent project” setting is saved like a preference upon quit of FCP or closing of the project. If you’re crashing, then any recent changes to preferences, including it’s listing of most recent project, are lost and it’s probably opening the most recent project you successfully closed or quit without crashing.”

    that could well be it, often when I’m working on a project it can be open for days on end – especially when leaving to render complex sequences overnight. I will try closing and reopening and see if that affects this particular behaviour.
    to answer your question I only ever use autosave versions in the process of the “restore project” function which convientiently saves the last autosave version as your new main project file.

    G5 DP 2.0 (Power PC)
    4.0G RAM
    OS 10.4.8
    QT 7.1.3
    FCP 5.1.2
    BMD Decklink Extreme 5.7.2
    PAL Land

  • Bret Williams

    October 25, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Yeah, forgot about that. I’m old school. Just copy and paste the autosave project and of course backup my current project by renaming. In fact, on important long lasting projects I continually option drag my project in my project folder to create “project copy 1, 2, 3, etc.” files.

  • Debe

    October 25, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    This also might be old school, but I wouldn’t leave the app running “for days on end”.

    A quit and restart every morning might clear up some of your crashing problems if you must leave it running overnight for rendering.

    debe

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy