Hi Dale,
Perhaps you’re thinking too hard about it. When I start a new editing job, I create a Folder on the video drive. Inside that folder is where I save the actual Project, and my video assets and such also go in that folder (I use sub-folders to keep things neat).
If at some point I want to make another copy, perhaps to try some changes without trashing the existing work, I will use “Save As” instead of “Save” and I can then create multiple versions, backups, whatever. But all “Project” versions get saved in the same master folder and I don’t even think about where background renders and such are going, they know what to do and it all stays in the same folder and I don’t think about it.
If I have a crash and Premiere wants to create a new version, or I manually go to the “Auto-Save” folder to open a backup version, I then do a “Save As” and create a new project name for current version. Again, same folder.
When I’ve delivered a job and customer signs off on it and I have no use for the material any more (have archived a master copy if need be), I just DELETE the ONE folder and everything is gone, nice and clean. Also a good idea to clean the Media Cache once in a while, under Edit > Prefs.
There’s more advanced options, if you want to use separate physical drives for Scratch and such and you can set that up if you want, but the KISS method has been working for me for 10+ years in Premiere.
Thanks
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers