Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Apple Final Cut Pro Multicam Issues 10.3 and 10.3.1

  • Multicam Issues 10.3 and 10.3.1

    Posted by Stanley Sousa on December 2, 2016 at 12:59 am

    Hello guys
    I’m sorry for English, I’m in Brazil and I need your help.

    I work with wedding editing and I use multicam a lot. In my workflow, I cut all the cameras inside the multicam using “in, out”. Then I select everything and copy it to a project at the primary level to do the assembly.

    Number 1
    I checked that in multiclip of 10.3, I can not delete a part of the movie, using (in, out), without joining both parts, because if they join I lose the synchronization. In 10.2, I selected the part that should be deleted with (in, out), and clicked (Backspace), and with that I deleted, keeping a space between the parts. Even using the “Position” tool, this is no longer possible in 10.3.

    Number 2
    Unfortunately in 10.3, I still can not stabilize a multicam clip. I wanted it to be possible to cut a selection and stabilize only it, but there is no way. Is this hard to do by Apple engineers or do they not care about multicam workflow?

    Improvements
    I noticed that the multicam now opens in the same position as it was previously, in the same timecode, and that helped, because I can enter the multicam, select with “in, out”, cut, stabilize and return to the primary level.

    Jeremy Garchow replied 9 years, 9 months ago 2 Members · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • Jeremy Garchow

    December 2, 2016 at 5:39 pm

    [Stanley Sousa] “I checked that in multiclip of 10.3, I can not delete a part of the movie, using (in, out), without joining both parts, because if they join I lose the synchronization. In 10.2, I selected the part that should be deleted with (in, out), and clicked (Backspace), and with that I deleted, keeping a space between the parts. Even using the “Position” tool, this is no longer possible in 10.3.”

    This is a new “feature” in 10.3. If you use a range and hit delete, it effectively “mutes” the audio in that range.

    Map a keyboard shortcut to “Delete Selection Only” which I have mapped to option-delete, and then select and range and hit that keyboard combination:

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy